top of page
DSCN4056.JPG

essays and anecdotes of small towns and open roads

  • Writer's pictureHabranthus

Spring Notes

Updated: Apr 29, 2023




March

On what I am sure was the windiest day of the year, my dogs got into a trash bag left outside. My trash was blown for three counties. I just moved into this house, and I am trying to make a good impression. Now I’ve got to go pick up trash in the neighbor’s pasture. Dang those dogs!



April

On my way into town, I passed a pasture where some Spring calves were running around like puppies, jumping and playing, kicking up their legs. So adorable, I got the idea I could rustle me a baby cow. The only thing that stopped me, besides riskin’ a hangin’, is that I didn’t think I could catch one. They’ve got four young legs, I only have two old legs.



May

A little black spider moved into my bathroom. He looked a little furry and sometimes he would scrunch up with his legs underneath him, so cute. He hung out around the window and sometimes on the floor, eating mosquitos I hoped. I loved him and considered him family. On one middle-of-the-night trip to the bathroom, I stepped on something that crunched a little. I turned on the light and it was him. He was dead, of course. But I gave him a decent burial at sea in the toilet, wrapped in his little toilet paper coffin.



This is not actually my little friend, but one of his surviving kin folk.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Rural Route America

essays and anecdotes

bottom of page